Muse’s comeback could have been ‘Psycho’

So… This is the beginning of something exciting; a new era, if you will… Isn’t it? I’ve been waiting for a new Muse song for ages and now that it’s finally here, I don’t really know how to react.

First things first. The name of their new album, Drones, had of course prepared me for something politically inspired and I thought to myself ‘Not another Black Holes and Revelations album’. But then again, that was better than The Resistance and definitely way better than The 2nd Law; so I wouldn’t mind, as long as there were guitars and drums.

And as I suspected, Psycho, the lead single off Muse’s upcoming Drones, is very much indeed political and sort of rockier than their latest stuff – which is fine, if that means they’re going back to their roots, as Matthew Bellamy had promised when he first announced the making of this record.

However, the song sounds too familiar… Kind of like Supermassive Black Hole and Uprising combined… And that’s not acceptable. I mean the music is nice and all, and Bellamy’s voice is always a dream, but couldn’t they think of something more original at this point?? Plus, “Your ass belongs to me now”? Really?

I guess that’s what Bellamy meant when he said that Psycho is not radio-friendly. But maybe it’s not ear-friendly in general, either. I’m sorry for being harsh but I miss these guys’ once impeccable sound. (Long gone are the Absolution days.) I really hope the rest of the album does the Muse comeback some justice, but I’m starting to have my doubts. Let’s see…

Leave a Reply

