Muse’s ‘Dead Inside’ adds to the disappointment

“You have to be dead inside to not like this song!”, I would have said if it was actually good. But no, that would be an introduction to a different track. With this one, sadly, I won’t do Muse any favours.

By now, you should know how much I adore this band. But still, for the last three albums or so (I’ve lost count), I keep watching them making all the wrong choices. It’s a matter of personal taste, of course, but you can’t ignore the fact that they’re not as good as they used to be.

When someone told me that this album would be even worse and that Muse were heading towards the end of their career, I refused to believe it, hoping for a miracle. From what I’ve seen so far, though, the band’s new album, Drones, is far from it… With a pretty much indifferent Psycho paving its way, I suspected what would follow.

So now we have Dead Inside. I guess I like the concept of the lyrics – which is probably expressed throughout the entire record – and I sort of like the weird, yet nicely choreographed, video clip.

But let’s focus on the song. First of all, I hate its introduction; don’t ask me why, I just do. It reminds me of the bad moments of The 2nd Law combined with an attempt of frontman Matthew Bellamy to bury his divine voice, yet again. (Why, why would you do that?)

Then there are some parts which seem like the light at the end of the tunnel, until something happens and the tunnel becomes dark again. And then I’m bored, until… the second half of the song!

Seriously, did we have to wait until 02.35 to start thinking this could actually turn out to be worthy of our time? It seems like we did, ‘cause I really loved the rest of it; finally, a beautiful melody and not just some riffs here and there.

If I am rambling on and on about a single song, you can imagine what will happen when I listen to the entire thing… And somehow I dread of that moment …

* Drones is due for release on 8 June 2015.

1 thought on “Muse’s ‘Dead Inside’ adds to the disappointment”

Leave a Reply

