Listening to London Grammar while mastering the art of turning right

As I’ve said in a previous post, this has definitely not been my year; or even more so, my summer. Naively, though, I thought for a second that this could be my fall. A time of action, the moment to leave the past behind and make some serious decisions.

But how am I supposed to find a balance in life when even my head physically refuses to do so? If you’re not familiar with the concept of vertigo, it’s this ‘very pleasant’ feeling that the room is spinning while you’re standing perfectly still. Luckily, in my case, it’s much less severe, as I mostly experience it lying in bed, moving from one side to the other.

So after many sleepless nights when I’ve been trying to sleep the way, I imagine, Count Dracula would inside his coffin (you know, on my back, constantly facing the ceiling), I’ve decided to not let it bother me. Of course, it’s not like I’m standing totally straight, either, given the general daily dizziness that follows my nightly ‘sways’.

But that’s ok. I’m always up for meetings with friends and doing something other than trying to test if the room will spin again once I lie down and turn right. See, I’ve already mastered the left turn so I guess I’m halfway there…

As interesting as I’m sure my vertigo story sounds to you, it is not the main point of this post. During this whole dizzy time, I’ve decided that I needed the kind of music that would calm me down. As much as I love My Chemical Romance (and played The World Is Ugly like a 100 times because it pretty much sums it all up), I wanted a sense of peacefulness for a change.

Then I remembered that I’d heard some of London Grammar’s songs and I loved frontwoman Hannah Reid’s voice. So this time, I listened to their entire debut If You Wait album (released in 2013), only to find out that this must be the best chill-out music ever. While I extremely enjoyed Wasting My Young Years, Nightcall, Metal & Dust and If You Wait, Strong has to be my favourite track of the record.

But it is way more than ‘chill-out melodies’. This girl can sing so beautifully and gracefully that she will make you feel actual jealousy, combined with admiration. I couldn’t describe the depth of her voice even if I tried. (And don’t get me started on her angelic exterior and effortless blonde locks! Pure e.n.v.y.) The band’s covers for BBC Radio 1’s Live Lounge are also worth checking out.

So if you have listened to London Grammar’s covers or some of their songs here and there as I had, it’s time for you to listen to the whole thing. Especially if vertigo is what you suffer from, there’s no better way to stop spinning. And if Hannah’s divine voice cannot stop the dizziness (because, let’s face it, you might need a doctor for that), it’s still worth the sense of serenity.

P.S. If you expected even the slightest U2 reference here, then you clearly don’t know me at all.

Leave a Reply

