Cobra Starship break up

Cobra_StarshipFor those of you who are not familiar with the band, Cobra Starship have been making fun – mostly pop punk and dance – music for almost a decade now. Although I am not such a huge fan myself, it saddens me to find out that they have just decided to call it quits, for a number of reasons.

First of all, I really love frontman Gabe Saporta’s style. I adore his crazy but somehow always elegant outfits and this mad ensemble will definitely be missed. Then, I will obviously miss the music, even though I only knew a few songs. Man they were good, though!

Cobra Starship gave pop punk an extra funky vibe and that’s what I loved the most about them. At least it’s always nice to see that an artist appreciates their fans and Saporta’s heartfelt note on the band’s official site really does justice to the break-up.

I was especially moved by this:

When my dad reluctantly accepted that I was dropping out of school to pursue music, he never imagined that I would have platinum records, VMA nominations, or even be able to move out of his basement (to be honest, I even had doubts about that last point). But because of you guys, we were able to achieve more than what most kids who start jamming in their parents’ garage ever dream of. I grew up as a little idealist punk who always saw himself as an outsider, and the fact that I got to play in the main arena still blows my mind, so thank you.

… I also realize how fortunate I am to have experienced a somewhat tumultuous road as an artist. It was because of the challenges along my journey that I was forced to look inwards, accept responsibility and transform. I feel like I’ve lived a hundred lifetimes and that I’ve learned things I could have never been taught elsewhere. I was able to connect with people all over the world and from all walks of life, and I will take these lessons, experiences, and connections with me wherever I go. But now the time has come to move on.

So it has. From now on, Saporta will be focusing on the business part of music, starting a new company, called theartistgroup.org

Here are some of my favourites from Cobra Starship:

 

Leave a Reply

