In with the new, out with the old – my 2015 in music clips

dead inside

Having said hello to a new year a few hours ago, I realised that I haven’t properly said goodbye to the previous one. And that’s probably because I feel I owe nothing to that f***in’ bastard! Excuse my language, but it’s true; 2015 was not my friend, in so many ways.

But I figured, how are we supposed to embrace the new if we’re still troubled by the old? So I am now paying my respects to 2015, which, as awful as it may have been, at least gave us some pretty solid songs! Surprisingly, it was way better than 2014 music-wise.

And that’s all I’m carrying with me as I’m taking 2016 by the hand, hoping it will be a much more fitting companion; the music, that is. So here are some of my favourite 2015 tracks which made my days shine brighter and my nights seem calmer.

  1. Lana Del Rey – High By The Beach

OK, so obviously this is not the most ‘sober’ song one can listen to, but we all need these kinds of tracks to put everything into perspective! Because sometimes, all you want to do is get high by the beach! And so does Lana Del Rey with this single (and maybe with the entire Honeymoon album). – “Loving you is hard, being here is harder. You take the wheel.”

  1. Kelly Clarkson – Heartbeat Song

On a much happier note, Kelly Clarkson reminded me that there’s not only heartbreak and pain in life, but also music that speaks about butterflies and things that make your heart pound louder and stronger. Heartbeat Song off her Piece by Piece album was a true light in the dark! – “This is my heartbeat song and I’m gonna play it. Been so long I forgot how to turn it up.”

  1. One Direction – Drag Me Down

I can safely say I’m not a Directioner, but man, these boys can make you feel good! (In the ever cheesy, yet always cheerful way!) Drag Me Down, off their Made in the A.M. album, really gave me hope and helped me realise that nobody, and nothing, can drag me (or you, or anyone) down. – “All these lights, they can’t blind me. With your love, nobody can drag me down.”

  1. Good Charlotte – Makeshift Love

Yes, finally! Good Charlotte are back! Even though this reunion happened during the last couple of months of the merciless 2015, it was still enough to make my year! Makeshift Love marked the beginning of the new GC era, while honouring the pop-punk music scene in the best way possible. I can’t wait to listen to a whole new ‘back-to-roots’ record. – “If I could get this right, if I could get away from the old me.”

6.  5 Seconds of Summer – Hey Everybody!

With a little help from their friends, GC’s Benji and Joel Madden, as well as their own unique style, those little dudes have managed to create yet another amazing album. 5 Seconds of Summer’s Sounds Good Feels Good does exactly what its name suggests and Hey Everybody! is particularly great in all its fun, pop-punk glory. – “Hey everybody! We don’t have to live this way!”

5.  twenty one pilots – Lane Boy

This song is fun and smart and empowering, all at the same time. Although I’m pretty sure twenty one pilots’ Lane Boy (off their super-successful Blurryface album) tackles the issue of ‘mainstream’, radio-friendly hits versus the music that artists are truly inspired to make – away from record companies, producers and sales – its meaning can actually apply to any other possible restraint. – “They say stay in your lane boy, lane boy. But we go where we want to.”

  1. Taylor Swift – Wildest Dreams

Taylor Swift’s 1989 was released in late 2014 so it’s only natural that it ruled almost everyone’s 2015! I absolutely love the entire album, but there was especially one song that came out during the year, which is responsible for all my endless daydreaming; you know, all the times when I’d rather be living in a movie set! (And the ‘50s.) – “Say you’ll remember me. Standing in a nice dress, staring at the sunset, babe.”

  1. Little Mix – Love Me Like You

I’ll admit I had my doubts about this one since I couldn’t get why these girls are so special. Then I listened carefully and decided that their voices, as well as this song, are totally refreshing! I mean, why should pop only be linked to One Direction when it so deserves a girlband? Love Me Like You, off Little Mix’s Get Weird album, proves just that. – “Last night I lay in bed so blue. ‘Cause I realised the truth, they can’t love me like you.”

  1. Adele – When We Were Young

Adele was obviously 2015’s happy surprise; 25 is a record that’s definitely got a lot more to give, and the early signs were spectacular. Although I love Hello, my favourite is When We Were Young, for all its simplicity and sincerity of the lyrics, which bring to mind happy memories. – “Let me photograph you in this light in case it is the last time that we might be exactly like we were…”

  1. Muse – Dead Inside

And… ~drum roll ~ the song that kept me the best company in 2015 is Dead Inside! I just realised how funny that sounds, given the fact that I was actually dead inside at times… But apart from that, I believe Muse’s Drones album is extremely addictive and I can name about five or six of its songs that I find incredibly well written and stunning. For now, I will stick to Dead Inside and its perfect lyrics. – “I gave you everything, I can’t give you anymore. Now I’ve become just like you.”

So that was my 2015 music list, I hope you enjoyed it! I am truly wishing for a much brighter, more optimistic and full of joy and laughter 2016 for all of you. (And to hell with Saturn!)

Leave a Reply

