Hayley Williams talks about new album and past members during ‘Parahoy!’

A few months ago, yet another Paramore member left the band; following Jeremy Davis’ departure back in December, Hayley Williams promised to not let go, despite having previously said goodbye to the Farro brothers, as well.

And so, with Taylor York echoing the good old days, and a brand new bassist, Joey Howard, on board, the band embarked on a super-exciting cruise last week. Parahoy!, which comes to an end today, was filled with fun excursions and performances by Paramore, Chvrches, New Found Glory and others. Man this sounds fun!

But while everything was smooth sailing (pun intended), Williams took the time to address last year’s hardships, as Billboard reports. “This past year has been a year that for me, I never want to relive again. At the same time, I would do it again if it meant understanding what having a real friend in this life feels like. Taylor, thank you so much for being awesome,” she told the fans.

She then honoured Paramore’s former members, which, correct me if I’m wrong, I think she’s never done before! At least not that clearly.

“It is an honour to play music with all the people that are here,” she said. “It’s been an honour to play music with Josh [Farro], with Zac [Farro], with Jeremy, everyone that’s ever played with Paramore. It’s such an honour, to have friendship and music rolled into one thing… only god can do that. I’m just glad it’s not over because I want to keep doing it.”

Luckily, a new album is on the cards, although it might take a while. “We’ve been – to be honest – a lot slower than I thought we would be,” said Williams. “Sometimes life happens… I took a Twitter break. It was great; you should try it some time. We’re gonna go on and make a record for ya… We’ll keep you posted.”

Obviously, I want her to keep on making music, too, but let’s see where that takes us! If one more person leaves, I think Hayley should seriously consider renaming Paramore ‘Williams & Co’. (In case you’re interested, check out my thoughts on the matter here.)

Leave a Reply

