Chris Martin joins Kings of Leon on stage

I’ve always loved Radio 1’s Big Weekend for the epic performances and the ‘unholy’ alliances like the above. Not that Kings of Leon frontman Caleb Followill and Coldplay frontman Chris Martin don’t have anything in common… but it’s definitely a pairing you wouldn’t expect to see on stage.

It’s true that I am not much of a Coldplay fan, I do like Kings of Leon, though. And when Followill invited Martin on stage in Glasgow last weekend, it was surely a performance worth watching. Martin only played the guitar and wasn’t persuaded in singing, after all. However, he gave Kings of Leon’s song Fans an even more interesting vibe. He also seemed quite cheerful, I must say, considering…!

I just loved Caleb’s words in the end: “We finally have someone famous in our band!”

Leave a comment